The Alberta Medical Association is calling for Achievement Award nominations for individuals who have contributed to the improvement of the quality of health care in Alberta. 

The Medal for Distinguished Service is given to a physician(s) who has made an outstanding personal contribution to medicine and to the people of Alberta, and in the process has contributed to the art and science of medicine while raising the standards of medical practice.

The Medal of Honor is awarded to a non-physician(s) who has raised the standards of health care and contributed to the advancement of medical research, medical education, health care organization, health education and/or health promotion to the public.

The awards will be presented at the AMA’s Fall 2020 annual general meeting in Calgary.

To request a nomination form for these awards, please contact Debbie Kuss, Administrative Assistant, Public Affairs,, 780.482.2626, ext. 3782, toll-free at 1.800.272.9680, ext. 3782 or visit the AMA website at

Nominations must be submitted by April 30.

2019 Recipients

In 2019, three physicians were recognized with Medals for Distinguished Service:

  • Dr. Michael Bullard, Edmonton
  • Dr. Frances Harley, Edmonton
  • Dr. David Hogan, Calgary
  • Harold James, Lamont
  • Brenda Reynolds, Edmonton

In 2019, two individuals were recognized with the Medal of Honor:

  • Harold James, Lamont
  • Brenda Reynolds, Edmonton

To read more about the 2019 honorees visit the AMA website at