For decades, the Alberta Medical Association has bestowed our highest honors on individuals who have made tremendous contributions to heath care in Alberta. In the second year of a pandemic, it’s hard to look around without seeing someone doing something remarkable for patients or the system. If you know someone who’s efforts in the past and present are making a difference, please consider nominating them for the prestigious AMA Achievement Awards. 

Medal for Distinguished Service

Awarded to a physician(s) who has made an outstanding personal contribution to medicine and to the people of Alberta and, in the process, has contributed to the art and science of medicine while raising the standards of medical practice.

Medal of Honor

awarded to a non-physician(s) who has raised the standards of health care and contributed to the advancement of medical research, medical education, health care organization, health education and/or health promotion to the public.

Nominations must be submitted by April 30. The awards will be presented at the AMA’s fall 2022 annual general meeting. 

To request a nomination form for these awards, please contact Debbie Kuss, Administrative Assistant, Public Affairs;; 780-482-2626, ext. 3782; toll-free 1-800-272-9680, ext. 3782; or visit the AMA website (

Please note: We know that everyone is busy and tired. We provide this advance notice to give nominators the time required to make submissions. If you have an idea now about someone you would like to honor, but need to assemble the nomination later, please let us know. We will be happy to follow up with you a little closer to the deadline and offer any assistance that we can at that time. 

In 2021, two physicians were recognized with Medals for Distinguished Service:

  • Dr. Jane Lemaire, Calgary
  • Dr. James L. Silvius, Calgary

In 2021, two individuals were recognized with the Medal of Honor:

  • Juliet Guichon, Calgary
  • Bev Garbutt, Cowley

To read more about the 2021 honorees, visit the AMA website at

    2021 AMA Achievement Award Winners

    The Alberta Medical Association salutes the recipients of the 2021 Long Service awards, Member Emeritus awards, Compassionate Service awards, Distinguished Service medal, Medal of Honor and Albertan Honorees of the Canadian Medical Association.