The Alberta Medical Association is calling for Achievement Award nominations for individuals who have contributed to the improvement of the quality of health care in Alberta. Help honour colleagues and Albertans who inspire through what they achieve.

The Medal for Distinguished Service is given to a physician(s) who has made an outstanding personal contribution to medicine and to the people of Alberta, and in the process has contributed to the art and science of medicine while raising the standards of medical practice.

The Medal of Honour is awarded to a non-physician(s) who has raised the standards of health care and contributed to the advancement of medical research, medical education, health care organization, health education and/or health promotion to the public.

Nominations must be submitted by April 30. The awards will be presented at the AMA’s fall 2023 annual general meeting.

To request a nomination form for these awards, please contact Debbie Kuss, Administrative Assistant, Public Affairs, or visit the AMA website.

2022 Medals for Distinguished Service

In 2022, two physicians were recognized with Medals for Distinguished Service:

  • Dr. James Kellner, Calgary
  • Dr. Christopher Wilkes, Calgary

To read more about the 2022 honourees visit the AMA website.